November 3, 2017

RGB Brings Home Two Muddy Awards from the Cascade Blues Association’s Annual Event

On Wednesday, November 1st, 2017 at the Melody Ballroom in Portland, Oregon, the Rae Gordon Band was proud to be honored with two Muddy Awards courtesy of the Cascade Blues Association membership. The band was awarded Best Northwest Recording for its latest release Better Than I Was – the award-winning CD is Rae Gordon’s third, and is the first writing collaboration between Gordon and Pat McDougall. It was produced by the band’s guitarist Kivett Bednar, and features his artwork and photography as well. The project was recorded and mastered at Mad Shaman Studios by engineer Alisdair Lee. In addition to Rae Gordon on vocals, the principal players are Kivett Bednar on guitar, Muddy-nominated Scott Franklin on saxophone, Al Hooton on bass, Allan Kalik on trumpet, Pat McDougall on keyboards and Muddy-nominated Ed Pierce on drums. The album’s title song is further sweetened by guest appearances from LaRhonda Steele, who received the Best Female Vocalist Muddy Award the same night, and Muddy-nominated Rich Layton on harmonica.

The band was also thrilled to receive the Best Contemporary Blues Act Muddy Award, chosen from a list of nominees that are some of the most talented acts in the Northwest. The RGB feels particularly fortunate since its lineup is relatively new, having come together in May of 2016 and then going on to take third place in the International Blues Challenge in Memphis just nine months later.

The Muddy Awards are given annually by the Cascade Blues Association, a dedicated group of volunteers, musicians and live music lovers who work tirelessly all year round to support and preserve blues music in the Portland metropolitan area through special programs and events. The entire band was truly grateful to be nominated in the Muddy Awards by the members of the CBA alongside so many incredibly talented and wonderful people.

The complete list of Muddy Award recipients appears below. Clearly though, from the nominees to the recipients, from the fans to the venues, from the volunteers to the stage crews, the ability to be part of this wonderful music community makes us all winners.

Contemporary Blues Act – Rae Gordon Band
“Lloyd Jones” R&B Act – Norman Sylvester Band
Traditional Blues Act – Ben Rice Band (Hall of Fame inductee)
Regional Blues Act – Ty Curtis
New Act – Lightning Kings
“Curtis Salgado” Male Vocalist – Andy Stokes (Hall of Fame inductee)
“Duffy Bishop” Female Vocalist – LaRhonda Steele
Electric Guitar – Alan Hager
“Terry Robb” Acoustic Guitar – Mary Flower
Bass – Timmer Blakely
Harmonica – Mitch Kashmar
Keyboards – Steve Kerin
“Jimi Bott” Drums – Brian Foxworth (Hall of Fame inductee)
Horns – Peter Moss
Venue – Catfish Lou’s
“Hurley” Award – Charles Rowell
NW Event of the Year – Cascade Blues Association 30th Anniversary Celebration
Performance of the Year – Curtis Salgado at the Waterfront Blues Festival
NW Recording of the Year – Rae Gordon, Better Than I Was
National Recording of the Year – Karen Lovely, Fish Outta Water
“George Page” Back What You Believe In – Norman Sylvester
“Paul deLay” Lifetime Achievement – Terry Robb

Posted by in Uncategorized and tagged as